Read All About It!

TALENTED  media students have received prizes at Teesside University’s  annual Journalism Awards.

The annual Journalist Awards event, which was hosted by Helen Dalby, Audience & Content Director, Reach North East & Yorkshire, took place at the Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art (MIMA) as part of Teesside University’s Graduate Showcase.

Journalism students received awards based on exceptional work produced during the past academic year, with winners receiving a week’s work experience at the company which sponsors the individual award.

Winners were commended for the skills learnt on the BA (Hons) Journalism; BA(Hons) Sport Journalism and BA (Hons) Public Relations and Digital Communications degrees


Among the awards were Broadcast Journalist of the Year, Best Sport Feature Writer and Blogger of the Year.

Prizes included a number of work placements with Teesside Live, The Hartlepool Mail along with work experience at BBC Tees; Bauer Media and ITV News.

A number of special academic awards were also given out, including the award for the best degree Final Projects.

Award’s host Helen was promoted to digital editor in 2012 and was closely involved in the award-winning digital newsroom transformation which was piloted in Newcastle and Teesside in 2014 before being rolled out nationally.

Helen was made editor of ChronicleLive in 2016, and in 2019 became Editor-in-chief for the region, overseeing the newsrooms in Newcastle and Middlesbrough. She’s currently Audience and Content Director for Reach in the North East, Yorkshire and Humber, as well as leading Reach’s partnerships with the BBC Local Democracy Reporting Scheme and with Meta and the NCTJ for our community reporters. 

Paul Bailey, Course Leader for Journalism in the School of Arts and Creative Industries, said: “These awards recognise the hard work and excellent calibre of our current journalism students and the students were thrilled to be awarded their prizes by Helen.”

“I would like to thank all of the media organisations who generously contributed prizes to this celebration of our students’ achievements.”

Below is a list of the winners

Winner of Vlogger of the Year – sponsored by Teesside University Communications and Development

Holly Havelock

Winner of Content Producer of the Year  – Sponsored by Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art (MIMA)

Tyler Atkinson  

Winner of Feature Writer of the Year –  sponsored by The Northern Echo newspaper

Scott McDonald 

Winner of Multimedia Journalist of the Year – sponsored by Teesside Live

Martyna Dydyk 

Winner of Community Reporter of the Year, sponsored by The Hartlepool Mail newspaper

Alicia Cuthbertson

Winner of Audio Journalist of the Year, sponsored by Bauer Media

Chris Cassidy 

Winners of Video Journalist of the Year, sponsored by UK Local TV

Alfie Lambert and Holly Havelock

Winner of Digital Communications Student of Year, sponsored by Harvey and Hugo PR Agency

Carina Gama

Winner of the Ali Brownlee Sports Coverage Award, sponsored by BBC Tees

Chris Cassidy

Winner of Creative Communications Campaign, sponsored by Durham County Cricket Club

Jamie Smith

Winner of Public Relations Student of the Year, sponsored by DTW PR Agency

Sarah Peacock

Winner of Broadcast Journalist of the Year, sponsored by ITV News

Charlotte Simpkin

Winner of Portfolio of the Year, sponsored by Great North Air Ambulance Service

Sarah Peacock

Winner of Sports Feature of the Year, sponsored by MFC Foundation

Tyler Atkinson.

Winner of Best Newcomer, sponsored by Teesside University

Gemma Woolston

Winners of Best Final Project, sponsored by Teesside University

Sarah Peacock and Martyna Dydyk